Advocacy Award

The First Advocacy Award was Made at 2018 Annual Meeting

2018 Inaugural AEG Advocacy Award winner Jennifer Bauer, with Greg Hempen and Phyllis Steckel

The AEG Advocacy Committee hosted the first AEG Advocacy Award in 2018. This annual award is to recognize and showcase the accomplishments of one or more effective advocates for geological practice. 

Recognized efforts may include:

  • Proactive outreach to mainstream media that results in raising the overall awareness of the value of geological practice;
  • Proactive outreach using social media that results in raising the overall awareness of the value of geological practice;
  • Proactive outreach to a legislative body, in anticipation of or in response to, specific legislation or legislative inclination that involves some aspect of geological practice;
  • Proactive outreach to a museum, university, local or tribal government, or similar organization that results in raising the overall public awareness of the value of geological practice; or
  • Proactive outreach, using any relevant means, toward any relevant outcome that beneficially raises the public awareness of geological practice.

Nomination Details:

The deadline for nominations is March 1.  All nominations should be sent via email to AEG Headquarters.  They will be reviewed and evaluated by the members of the AEG Advocacy Committee and the decision of the Committee is final. 

The bulk of the advocacy and outreach work achieved within each nomination should have been completed within the past three years.  Nominations that were not selected in any given year will be retained for consideration for up to three additional years.  Retained nominations can be updated.

Self-nominations are encouraged.  Each nomination should include the name, mailing address, email address, phone number, and affiliation for the nominee.  There is no specific form needed.  In the case of a group nomination, the main point-of-contact will be shown with full information listed above, as well as the name, affiliation, and email address for each individual in the group. 

The nomination will also include a short essay or listing of the nominee’s efforts and their outcomes. The essay or listing will not exceed 300 words.  Up to three photographs are welcome, but not required.  Photo captions will be limited to 20 words each, and do not count toward the 300-word limit.

The recipient of the AEG Advocacy Award may have their nominations included in one or more articles in the AEG News and/or the AEG Insider.  An engraved plaque and a small honorarium will be awarded to the AEG Advocacy Award winner at the Annual Meeting. The awardee will be afforded the opportunity to make a short acceptance speech at the meeting.  Location and timing of the award presentation will be determined by the Annual Meeting committee and communicated to the awardee.

In future years, previous winners will not be eligible for three years after their award. At its discretion, the AEG Advocacy Committee has the option to not make an AEG Advocacy Award in any year. 

Past Advocacy Award Recipients
2018: Jennifer Bauer
2019: Jerome DeGraff